Sunday, January 26, 2014

Order of Australia for Brenda Aynsley, President of the Australian Computer Society

An Order of Australia (OAM) was was awarded to Brenda Aynsley, President of the Australian Computer Society today. This is a recognition well deserved.

No doubt many who know Brenda have stories to tell about her community work. One of mine is that 21 April 2009 I was standing at a tram stop in Adelaide on my way to the beach, after attending an ACS training session for on-line tutors (which I was one of). Brenda called to invite me to see the ACS PC Recycling SIG, which she said was near a tram stop (it was as if it was as if  she knew where I was and that I was skiving off). Brenda headed the group of volunteers refurbishing old computers donated by business for those in need. This is no slipshod operation with a tidy well run workshop, with a careful procedure to erase any data on old computers, test the hardware and then installing new licensed software.

The Office of the Official Secretary to the Governor-General

Ms Brenda AYNSLEY ... For service to the information and communications technology sector.

Current Chair, IP3, International Federation for Information Processing.
National Vice-President, Australian Computer Society, 2002-2003 and 2010-2011; Honorary Life Member, since 2008.
Chair, National Community Engagement Board, 2009-2010.
Chair, Ageism Task Force, 2010.
Lead Tutor and Academic Program Coordinator, Professional Year Program.
Founding Member, Electronic Frontiers Australia, 1994.
Honorary Secretary, South Australian Branch, Australian Computer Society; Chairman, 1999-2001 and 2004-2006; Member, since 1989; Founder and Manager, PC Recycling Group, since 2000.
Chair, SA Committee, The Pearcey Foundation, 2006-2012.
Opened South Australia's first Internet Café, 1995.
Founding Member, South Australian Internet Association, 1995.
Fellow, South Australian Branch, Australian Computer Society, since 2003.

From: Australia Day 2014 Honours Lists, Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division (A-E), Sunday 26 Jan 2014.

ps: They left out "President of the Australian Computer Society, 2014". But that must have been after the nomination was submitted.

No comments: