Friday, April 13, 2012

UK Professional Standards for Higher Education Staff

The UK Higher Education Academy has issued a "UK Professional Standards Framework" (UKPSF) to define the roles of teaching and learning support staff in UK universities. The framework has three Dimensions of Practice: Areas of Activity, Core Knowledge and Professional Values.

The Academy also provides four levels of accreditation, in increasing order:

  1. Associate Fellow AFHEA
  2. Fellow FHEA
  3. Senior Fellow SFHEA
  4. Principal Fellow PFHEA

The only formal qualification required seems to be a certificate in higher education teaching and similar Academy-accredited professional development.

No comments: